Jonas Vingaard was crowned undefeated in the Tour de France for the second year in a row

Jonas Vingegaard won for the second time in a row France Tower. He judged the ceremonial Tour a triumphant classic walk through the streets of Paris, with Jordi Meeus crowned stage winner on his arrival on the Champs-Elysées. Tadezh Pogacar, blazing the last 40 kilometers of the day and undefeated in the white jersey for the fourth time in a row, didn’t hold out for the final stage of the Tour – despite winning the penultimate stage – and was left with the second step on the podium, next to Adam Yates, who consolidated third place. Weakened by a crash in the penultimate stage, Carlos Rodriguez – second in the youth classification – finished fifth in the Tour, despite holding on to third place in the general classification during some stages. It ranks sixth behind Belo Bilbao, who broke 100 consecutive stages without a Spanish victory in the competition. As for the rest of the classifications, Giulio Ciccone has already confirmed his victory in the mountains classification during the penultimate stage, and Jasper Philipsen has positioned himself as the top runner With green “jersey”.

The final stage began with 150 runners at the velodrome national in Saint-Quentin-en-Yvelines – which will host cycling events at the 2024 Olympic Games – and ended in the last 700-meter race to the Champs-Elysées, where the winners of the race and competition were crowned. A flat stage with a length of 115.1 km of parade and truce, a victory rally and a fight between runners. There were eight teams that finished the entire Tour de France, while others, such as Cofidis and Movistar Team, were the most depleted: only four cyclists from each managed to reach the end of the route.

Vingegaard won’t rest after a Tour win. He will participate for the second time since 2020 in the Tour of Spain. Despite not being on the Jumbo team shortlist, the Danish cyclist will ride the co-leader with Primoz Roglic, the reigning Giro d’Italia champion and also a three-time winner of the Spanish Tour. The Tour of Spain has already confirmed the presence of Remco Evenpoel, the last winner of the race, Spain’s Juan Ayuso and Geraint Thomas. After finishing second last year, Enrique Mass will also be attending the Vuelta when he recovers from a fall during the first stage of the Tour de France, which left him out of the competition.

You can follow EL PAÍS Sports on Facebook y TwitterPoint here to receive Weekly newsletter.

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *