Kasper Asgreen won the eighteenth stage of the Tour de France after riding in the break from the start

Kasper Asgreen wins the eighteenth stage of the Tour de France. The Soudal Quick-Step rider won the race after escaping the first kilometer of road between Moutiers and Bourg-en-Bresse. Victor Campinaerts and Jonas Abrahamsen rode alongside the Danish rider, who was joined by Pascal Einkorn 55 kilometers from the finish line. Touring virtually judged by Jonas Vingaard, The duel by the fugitives was the most interesting part of the stage. The leading group set the pace for the day, making the peloton sweat to maintain salvageable distance to fight for the stage.

The escape came more than a minute and a half behind the peloton, with the Dane in the yellow jersey riding. With about 30 kilometers of the 185km to go, the lead group began to close the gap with the leading cyclists, closing in on the overtaking. The peloton crossed the finish line less than 10 seconds behind the escapees. Tadej Pogacar seems to have given up in the battle with Vingegaard for the Tour win, after the Jumbo-Visma rider opened up the gap in the general classification in the previous two stages to 7 minutes 30 seconds.

You can follow EL PAÍS Sports on Facebook y TwitterPoint here to receive Weekly newsletter.

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *